Updating from 7.2 breaks site

Hello! I’m a front-end WP developer trying to update PHP on a client’s commercial website. Updating from 7.2 to 7.3 or 7.4 instantly breaks the site (503 Service Unavailable).

Changing to generic themes and disabling all plugins does not make a difference.

In trying to troubleshoot on my own, I hoped to enable error logging so I’d have something to share, but I discovered that there was no php.ini file, and it was not being generated when I applied the updates via Bluehost’s Multi PHP Manager function. So, I created one and added this:

log_errors = on
error_reporting = 32767
error_log = /home1/root name redacted/logs

That generated a file when I tried loading the home page, but the file only had historical error data and nothing useful for this situation.

So, I’m stuck now. Any suggestions?

Did you upgrade your WP also? Some versions of WP will not run on the latest version of PHP without upgrading it also. You talk about PHP updating, but, which version of WP are you using? Most likely PHP is okay, just needs a newer version of WP.
Hope you are doing this on a test server or duplicate so the live site is not down.

Thanks for the reply. Yes, WP is up to date, and yes, it was in a staging environment.

Good. Now, you should clean out your php error logs and then run the site again and review the logs.
In a “staging” environment, you might find the logs on the server, but, they might be under the main folder it.
As an example, in WAMP, it is located in the root folder in a folder called “logs”. They are just text files.
Can be deleted since it is just for testing. Then, the new ones would contain just your live tests from your
site. That way, you can see what is the true errors. Post them and we can help.

The log doesn’t show any kind of fatal errors. It shows: