Update query failed but successful message is retured

Hello.
First of all, I am actually new in PHP and HTML coding. So, please go easy on me.

Here is my problem,
My update query is not working which actually make me confused. My code seem to be fine (Well, for me) and I have checked the error log and nothing is wrong with the code (I even deleted it so it will generate a new one which it does not). The attribute and column names is match… The ‘UPDATE DATA’ message is returned which means the query should be successful, right? But, in this case, the message is triggered but the table hasn’t been updated.

Is there any issue while using an UPDATE command in any PHP code? If there is any, please let me know.
I stuck on this for nearly two weeks…

Thank you for your time.

[php]<?php
$sqlshowid = “SELECT conid FROM registerlogin”;
$insertsql = mysqli_query( $sqltable, $sqlshowid );

echo "<form method=post>";
echo "<table>";

echo "<select name=updatedata onchange=this.form.submit()>";
echo "<option style=display:none>Pick an ID</option>";

while( $showid = mysqli_fetch_array( $insertsql ) )
{
	echo "<option>".$showid['conid']."</option>";
} echo "</select>";

if( isset( $_POST['updatedata'] ) )
{
	$id = $_POST['updatedata'];
	$sqlshowall = "SELECT * FROM registerlogin WHERE conid='$id'";
	$displaydata = mysqli_query( $sqltable, $sqlshowall );

$rowdata = mysqli_fetch_array( $displaydata );

echo "<tr><td>ID</td><td>".$id."</td></tr>";
	echo "<tr><td>Fullname</td><td><input type=text name=usernameupdate value='".$rowdata['name']."'></td></tr>";
	echo "<tr><td>Password</td><td><input type=text name=passwordupdate value='".$rowdata['passwd']."'></td></tr>";
	echo "<tr><td>Email</td><td><input type=email name=emailupdate value='".$rowdata['email']."'></td></tr>";

echo "<tr><td><td><button type=submit name=buttonupdate>Update</td></td></tr>";
	echo "</table>";
	echo "</form>";
}

if( isset( $_POST['buttonupdate'] ) )
{
	$updatename = $_POST['usernameupdate'];