Understanding function and output

Hi everyone,

I am trying to understand the following function and ideally see the results of its actions. I’m new to php and from what I can gather it’s performing some XOR

how do you imagine viewing output? unless, you have the missing code.
this is a function that loops over a user agent string and a browser code function from a class file. The whole thing is wasted code. I thought that i was a beginner. jeez!

Well I’m not sure about that, the XOR is doing something to the output.

you are wasting your time with this code. it is useless in many ways,
if you struggle with bitwise operators, then read about them.
i’ve only used xor in c++ for bitshifting and even that seemed like a waste of time.

function with comments:

function getBrowserType($useragent) {  //browser id, such as Mozilla
    $ua = $useragent; //assign the browser id to a variable
    $browser = ''; //assign an empty string to a variable named browser
    for($i=0; $i<strlen($ua); ) //loop over ua string length which produces an integer

{
        for($j=0; ($j<strlen($this->browserCode) && $i<strlen($ua)); $j++,$i++)
        { //loop to match string length integer with a browser code integer
            $browser .= $ua{$i}^$this->browserCode{$j};
            //if $ua{$i} or browserCode{$j} is an integer,
            //change $ua{$i} or browserCode{$j} to an integer
            //XOR them for a numeric result.
        }
    }
    return $browser; //return the string browser which contains ua + browsercode

}

it seems like the result is obfuscated, which is silly.
https://www.php.net/manual/en/language.operators.bitwise.php

Thanks, this is the rest of the code it seems to be iterating over. So i guess im trying to understand what it’s doing and the output of the useragent string.

var $browserCode = "42";
 $browserType = $geoplugin->getBrowserType("XA");

// reject known useragents used by bots
  if(isset($useragent)){