Unable to connect to MySQL Database...Why?

Hey guys, I’m new to PHP and I’m creating a login and register using PHP but then how do I actually connect them together. Cause I keep on getting connection failed on the webpages when direct it. And I’m using xampp to do this too.

The database name is database and the table name is users

Below are my code:-

Server Code

<?php
  session_start();

//Create Connection
  $connection = mysqli_connect('localhost', 'root', '');

mysqli_select_db($connection, 'database');

//Check Connection
  if(!$connection -> connect_error){
    die("Connection Failed!" . mysqli_connect_error());
  }

$email = $_POST['email'];
  $fullname = $_POST['fullname'];
  $password = $_password['password'];
  $birthday = $_POST['birthday'];

?>

<?php
  include('server.php');

$sqlCheck = "select * from users where email = '$email' ";
  $result = mysqli_query($connection, $sqlCheck);
  $num = mysqli_num_rows($result);

//Check if the email have registered
  if($num == 1){
    echo "Email have been registered!";
  } else {
    $sqlInsert = "insert into users(email,fullname,password,birthday)
                VALUES ('$email','$fullname','$password','$birthday')";

mysqli_query($connection, $sqlInsert);
    echo "Successfully Registered!";
  }
?>

Login Code

<?php
  include('server.php');

$sqlCheck = "select * from usertable where email = '$email' && password='$password'";
  $result = mysqli_query($connection, $sqlCheck);
  $num = mysqli_num_rows($result);

//Check if the email have registered
  if($num == 1){
    header('location: user_home.php');
  } else {
    header('location: login.php');
  }
?>

Error