Trying to make a battleship program

Hi, I’m trying to make a battleship program for class and can’t seam to get it to work right. the problems I’m running into are that first off everytime i hit the shoot button it seams to reset the board arrays. By adding the $currentPlayer variable to a if loop i thought it would fix this but it doesn’t for some reason. after i hit the shoot button it again evaluates it as null and resets the boards for each player. The next problem is related to the first as the attack function doesn’t seam to be run or work properly and i can’t seam to figure out why. any help at all would be greatly appreciated as I have looked through the book PHP5/MySQL programming for the absolute beginner and still can’t find out whats wrong. thanks in advance the entire code of my program is below.

[code]

Battleship <? global $board1, $board2, $height, $width; $height = 10; $width = 10; $sizeOfBattleship = 5; $board1 = array(); $board2 = array(); $hitCounter1 = 0; $hitCounter2 = 0; //print the form print <<<HERE height: width:

HERE; if(!$currentPlayer){ setNewBoards(10,10); // create and place boards randomly positioning the battleship $currentPlayer = 1; //sets current player to 1 so setNewBoards isn't ran again }else{ attack($attackPositionX, $attackPositionY); $currentPlayer = 1; }//end else print "Current Player = "; print $currentPlayer; print "