Syntax for strpos for true and false

Hi

I am a copy and paste coder, so missing a lot of basics.

I have a folder with a number of files eg
img-3-1-paint-city50
img-3-1-paint-city30
img-3-1-primer-city50
img-3-1-tape-city50

The code below sucessfully finds the first file (includes “paint” and “city50” and ignores all other files.

I know the code is checking if both “paint” and “city50” are true but the use of false is confusing me.

I want to change the code so that “paint” is not true but “city50” is true - so the following files will be returned:
img-3-1-primer-city50
img-3-1-tape-city50

What do I need to change so “paint” is false / not true

EDIT - jump to post 6 in this thread 31 December where I added my revised code and what I outcome I want. Thanks for the replies thus far.

if($file !== ‘.’ && $file !== ‘…’ && ( strpos($file,“paint”) !== false && strpos($file,“city50”) !== false ))

The reason for the comparison with a false value is covered in the documentation. Short-version: the position, if found, can be zero, which is also seen as a false value using a loose comparison/boolean, so, an exact comparison should be used (for a search which will never match anything starting at position zero, a loose/boolean comparison can be used.)

If strpos() (which is case-sensitive, use stripos() for a case-insensitive search) doesn’t find a value, the result will be a false. This would use strpos(…) === false. If strpos() does find a value, the result will be not false. This would use strpos(…) !== false.

To make writing the logic clearer (eliminate the negative logic), use a helper function -

// test if $string has/contains the $search value
function has($string,$search)
{
	return strpos($string,$search) !== false;
}

Next, any search that includes a specific value, doesn’t need to include the ‘.’ and ‘..’ tests.

Using the above has() function, your original test would look like -

if(has($file,"paint") && has($file,"city50"))

You new test would be -