Specific loops through SQL data?

Apologies if this has been asked before, but since I’m an extreme novice, I don’t know what I’m doing. I have googled my problem but I don’t understand how to implement anything in regards to my specific needs. Plus it is for work, so it is time-sensitive.

I have a database table with a list of members of Congress. There are fields for their name as well as what state they represent. What I want is to list all the people under their corresponding state, and I tried to do this using repeating regions (I am working in Dreamweaver CS5). Here is the MySQL:

mysql_select_db($database_getcaughtreading, $getcaughtreading); $query_rsPosters = "SELECT posters.firstname, posters.lastname, posters.image, posters.reading, posters.type, posters.`state` FROM posters WHERE posters.reading = '1' AND posters.type = 'congress' ORDER BY posters.lastname ASC"; $rsPosters = mysql_query($query_rsPosters, $getcaughtreading) or die(mysql_error()); $row_rsPosters = mysql_fetch_assoc($rsPosters); $totalRows_rsPosters = mysql_num_rows($rsPosters); ?>
And here is the code I implemented thus far:

<h3>Alabama</h3> <ul> <?php do { ?> <?php if ($row_rsPosters['state']=="Alabama") { ?> <li><a href="images/posters-congress/<?php echo $row_rsPosters['image']; ?>" target="_blank"><?php if ($row_rsPosters['firstname']<>"") { ?> <?php echo $row_rsPosters['firstname']; ?> <? }?> <?php echo $row_rsPosters['lastname']; ?></a></li><? } ?> <?php } while ($row_rsPosters = mysql_fetch_assoc($rsPosters)); ?> </ul>
That code works—but only for one state. For every state after that, no data appears. Just the h3 tag with the state name, which I entered manually and is not part of the repeating region. I tried some other loops (in place of the if) but the results have either been infinite data displaying, showing every state’s result…basically just not working. Can someone please help me? Thank you!

This:

while ($row_rsPosters = mysql_fetch_assoc($rsPosters));