Simple problem driving me crazy!!!

I’m new at php but have gotten fairly familiar with it over the past few weeks. I hired a programming firm to get my business started and have been modifying the code I purchased to meet my ongoing needs. So far, so good, but I am having a problem with one of my applications when I try to write to my database.

I’m using the INSERT INTO table (columns) VALUES (values) command, and the problem is that everytime I try to put a new value in for the next column of an existing row, I end up writing a whole new row into the table and this won’t work for my application…

My code looks like this:
$newweeklyscore = “INSERT INTO weeklyscores (teamname,teamlevel,week$weektoget) VALUES (’$teamname’,’$teamlevel’,’$totalweeklypts’)”;
$result = mysql_query($newweeklyscore);

If anyone can help, please let me know as soon as possible since I am up against a very tight deadline!!! THANK YOU!!!

CV

Using the INSERT query, adds a new row. To update an exisiting row, use the UPDATE function.

$newweeklyscore = "UPDATE weeklyscores SET teamname='$teamname',teamlevel='$teamlevel',week$weektoget='$totalweeklypts' WHERE something = something";

Notice the end part of the query. I would assume each row has a unique id number? If so you should assign one using an auto_increment field. This allows you to update only one specific row. If you dont have this, then all rows will be updated at one time.

:)

Hey Carella… I’m curious. Up til now, I’ve been generating unique IDs for my … well for anything that needs unique IDs … by having a separate “IDs” table that was called and incrimented whenever I wanted to get a new ID. What is this auto-increment type you speak of? It could come in VERY handy.

Hi Tarential,

The auto increment function is indeed very useful. It makes it very easy to update a specific row as each row will have a unique id number. The auto_increment field should always be your primary key, as no two rows can be the same.