shows nothing

Hi, I’m new to learning php. When I view this page in my browser it shows nothing and the page source is nothing. I would’ve thought it should at least show the html outside of the php, no? The table contains data since I created it and put it in with phpMyAdmin. I’ve deleted the parameters on the connection function and changed the table name since it’s prefixed with username info etc.

Here’s where the page is http://samcoles.gofreeserve.com/venue_list.php

Can anyone tell me what’s wrong? Cheers.

[code]

Venues register | venues <?php $con = mysql_connect(); if (!$con) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); }

$dbselect = mysql_select_db(“test_site”, $con);
if(!$dbselect) {
die("Cannot select database " . mysql_error());
}

$result = mysql_query(“SELECT * FROM venue”);

echo “

”;
    while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
    {
    echo “
  • <a href=“venue.php?id=” . $row[‘user_id’] . “”>” . $row[‘name’] .
    “”;
    }
    echo “
”;

?>

[/code]

As far as I can tell, it’s probably a configuration issue. The code looks like it should at LEAST produce a source code. Contact your host with this problem and ask them for support.

You’re right. I changed host and it worked. Thankyou very much. I should set up php/sql on my own computer if I’m planning to learn all this jazz… Any simple step-by-step guides out there?

Also this, outputs "title for id x is " but not the actual name which is irritating, yet again can’t see why…

<?php $id = $_GET["id"]; $sql = "SELECT venue_id, name FROM venue WHERE venue_id='$id'"; $result = mysql_query($sql); $title = mysql_fetch_object($result); echo "title for id " . $id . " is " . $title->name; ?>

How silly of me… no connection isn’t it? Funny the idiots mistakes you notice immediately upon posting but couldn’t work out for half an hour sat there in the editor… :stuck_out_tongue:

I have another question,