session lost

Hello and I hope that you are having a good day,

I am hoping that someone with session experience can help me please. I am new to php and I am trying to setup a registration page. I had a page working but now i seem to lose the session data at the final submission. I don’t want to write a book explaining the problem so I will try to keep this short.

I have read alot of data in the past two weeks. My logic about php has a different perspective than the authors of many documents. for example, I assume that a form submission will use the same page to process data. Thus php_self but many authors say to avoid php_self because of injections. So now I make my form submit to a different php page. I try to make sure that the page checks that the form was used. The submission of the form for processing, in my opinion, is an elevation of privilege, so I regenerate id. I had a working form yesterday until I added a new token. now the final submission carries no session variables. I am missing something here. Will someone please guide me down the right path?

registration requires that you agree to my privacy policy and use of session cookies or you cannot register. The EU law requires this agreement. Thus register.php starts with agree to policy and cookies.

======================================================
agree.php step one of the session registration process