<select> problem

Hi,
I fetched All Roll Numbers in from Students table. I fire an event on Submit to read Roll Number from and display students information according to it. But it is not displaying the selected number in . Please help me.

Thanks

Can’t help you without seeing the code you’re working with first.

Hi, I am a author of the question. and below is the code
[php]

<?php $con=mysql_connect("localhost","root",""); mysql_select_db("ashwathDB",$con); $selectEnqId = mysql_query("select * from Students"); echo ""; echo "Select the ID : "; $rNo = $_GET['RollNO']; while($row=mysql_fetch_array($selectEnqId)) { echo "$row[0]"; } echo " "; $b = $_GET['btn1']; if($b) { echo $rNo; //to display accepted roll number }//end of If echo ""; ?>[/php]

Above code is working fine for me… but unable to display the selected / passed ROll Number in .

thanks

You’re missing a few key bits of code in there, this is what it should be
[php]

<?php $con=mysql_connect("localhost","root",""); mysql_select_db("ashwathDB",$con); if(isset($_POST['btn1'])) { // name of your submit button $b = $_POST['RollNO']; } $selectEnqId = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM Students ORDER BY id DESC"); echo ""; echo "Select the ID : "; while($row=mysql_fetch_array($selectEnqId)) { echo "$row[id]"; } echo ""; if($b) { //echo $rNo; //to display accepted roll number echo $b //$rNo doesn't exist anywhere yet, can't echo it. } ?>[/php]

$b wasn’t equalling anything because the option didn’t have an assigned value. Change id to whatever is supposed be selected in that box.

Hey thanks for answer.

But using your code the selected number is displaying on the browser. I don’t want to display it.

If there are 4 numbers are available 1,2,3,4 and if I select suppose 2 from tag then after clicking on the button 2 value should display in as a selected value. Right now it is displaying first value.