Script problem.. Hoping for some help please.

Hi,

I am a beginner to PHP, and have been learning through a training CD, but I didn’t realize until half way through that the original CD was compiled in 2002, and PHP has come a long way since then. I am running MAMP V1.7.1 using PHP V5, and am having a (more than a few) hiccups. I have been able to research and get fixes or workarounds for most things till now, which has boosted my confidence somewhat, but am really stuck on this one. I have got to the stage where I am trying to put together a really basic login page (very basic) as per the instruction CD.

Would really appreciate someone helping me with this, or maybe I just need to start again with a different way of writing it?

Here are a few errors that I am getting at this moment.

Login
Notice: Undefined index: logged_in_user in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/login_password/login.php on line 26
We are sorry, invalid login, please try again (So it appears to me that the script is executing to this stage?)

Login
Notice: Undefined index: user in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/login_password/login.php on line 22

Your UserName:
Your Password:

And here is the script I have been learning. I have added the $_POST to everything I can think of, and have also rather than writing them as I have on every part, tried putting them at the top of the script as variables pre defined, but keep getting tons of ‘Undefined Index errors’ when I do it this way. Yet when I have written it the way below, I just get the ones above.

<?php ob_start(); ?> Login Page

Login

<?php $links = "Click here to return to the main page

Click here to Log Out"; if ($user=$_POST["user"] && $pass=$_POST["pass"]) { if($logged_in_user=$_POST["logged_in_user"] == $user=$_POST["user"]) { print $user .", you are already logged in.