Problem w/ preserving checked state in a recursive function

Hi, I’m a total PHP noob and was hoping for some help. I’m trying to make a recursive function that takes an array of strings and produces a list of checkboxes.

The problem is located right at the call to isset() & in_array(). I’d like to use the $lineage array to tell PHP specifically where to check in $_POST to see if a variable exists in order to preserve the checked state. I can’t seem to figure out how to access a subarray that’s at an unknown depth at run time.

The only option I can think of is to start off at $_POST[keywords], see if $lineage[‘first’] exists at that level, if so, move into that subarary, then check $lineage[‘second’] and so on until you reach where you think the element would be, but that seems like a really clumsy way to go about doing things. Is there a better way? Or is my problem with the whole approach that I’m taking? Many thanks for any help, this has been causing me a headache all day. :(

[code] <?php
function make_list($array, &$lineage = array()) {
?>

<?php
    // make a list item for each keyword in the array
    foreach($array as $key => $value) {
    ?>

• <?php
    // if the current element is an array, recursively call the function
    if(is_array($value)) {
    // print the current item
    echo $key;
    					// going one level deeper, so push it onto the stack
    					$lineage[] = $key;

// recursively call the function on the child generation
    					make_list($value, $lineage);

// finished with a generation, so pop it off of the stack
    					array_pop($lineage);
    				}
    				// otherwise, it's not an array, display the contents
    				else {
    	?> 	
                <input name="keywords<?php
                foreach($lineage as $ancestor) { 
                    echo "[$ancestor]"; 
                } 
                ?>[]" id="<?php echo $value; ?>" value="<?php echo $value; ?>" type="checkbox" <?php
                    // preserve the input