Please help me with my PHP form

Hi,
I’m a newbie and doing my class project. I got this script from a book and tried modifying if for use in my project. Once I hit “Submit”, the form doesn’t work. Please help. I’ve attached the script below:

[php]

<?php $page_title = 'Edit Race Information'; include ('./includes/header.html'); // Check for a valid user ID, through GET or POST. if ( (isset($_GET['id'])) && (is_numeric($_GET['id'])) ) { // Accessed through jockeyclub.php $id = $_GET['id']; } elseif ( (isset($_POST['id'])) && (is_numeric($_POST['id'])) ) { // Form has been submitted. $id = $_POST['id']; } else { echo '

Page Error

This page has been accessed in error.

'; include ('./includes/footer.html'); exit(); } require_once ('mysqlconnection.php'); // Connect to mysql. // Check if the form has been submitted. if (isset($_POST['submitted'])) { $errors = array(); // Initialize error array. // Check for a course name. if (empty($_POST['CourseName'])) { $errors[] = 'Please enter the Course name.'; } else { $cn = escape_data($_POST['CourseName']); } // Check for a race name. if (empty($_POST['RaceName'])) { $errors[] = 'Please enter the Race name.'; } else { $rn = escape_data($_POST['RaceName']); } // Check for race sponsor. if (empty($_POST['RaceSponsor'])) { $errors[] = 'Please enter the Race sponsor.'; } else { $rs = escape_data($_POST['RaceSponsor']); } if (empty($errors)) { // If everything's OK. // Test for unique race name. $query = "SELECT ID FROM jc_race WHERE RaceName='$rn' AND ID != $id"; $result = mysql_query($query); if (mysql_num_rows($result) == 0) { // Make the query. $query = "UPDATE jc_race SET CourseName='$cn', RaceName='$rn', RaceSponsor='$rs' WHERE ID=$id"; $result = @mysql_query ($query); // Run the query. if (mysql_affected_rows() == 1) { // If it ran OK. // Print a message. echo '

Edit Race Information

The user has been edited.

'; } else { // If it did not run OK. echo '

System Error