Php with Form Menus and MySQL [Solved]

I might be getting complex here I don’t know.

I’m very very very new at PHP. Just finished the Lynda.com Tutorials PHP and MySQL.

I’m trying to develope a form thats dynamic and changes. The form will be used for customizing a custom computer system.

Just for a small example: I will talk about the 3 top menus in the form,
Processor - Motherboard - Memory

The first form menu is processor. If a customer or user pulls down the menu and chooses a Pentium 4 3.2 ghz … I need the menu options in the Motherboard menu (in the same form) to change (remove) some of the options because they are not compatible with the processor that was chosen.

I this process will continue with every option… The stuff does not even need to be removed it could just be grayed out and cant be selected, whatever works best.

I don’t know EVEN where to start this… Could I set a Parts Set in the database and work around it… I don’t know.

If anyone goes to Avadirect.com … and looks at how they have it. They have it so when someone is configuring their options it does what I’m talking about.

Also second question: Where can I do tutorials and practice php skills and develop them more so I can start promoting myself and take on some paying clients soon.

There are a couple ways to approach this. Depending on how seamless you want this to look you may want to look into AJAX. However, if you just want to get something work now, you can use the onChange function in Javascript.

This would resubmit the form and allow for a new set of criteria to be used to create any and all other select boxes.

sry wrote this yesterday, but i have forgotten to hit submit:

this can be done in two ways:

1. AJAX. google will give u lots of results.
  2. much easyer. use a submit on change (easy java-script, u may have a look at the PHPMyAdmin-navigation). or multible pages onr where u just couse the processor, and the next to chouse the motherbord a.s.o.