PHP/MYSQLI Query Help Please

This may be a vary dumb question with a very simple answer. I hope…

This is a class project, yes I am new to php, however I am having fun.

Anyway, my question is this: Can I use a SESSION variable in a PHP/MYSQLI statement
to run a query on a database?

I use the code below in other areas using $_POST, however, it does not seem to work using SESSION.
I take the where clause out and the table data prints fine. My goal is to get specific user information,
from a user that is already logged in, not the whole table. The echo statement below prints fine, I put that there
to verify the session passed the variable.

[code]<?php
removed DB connection info

if (mysqli_connect_errno())
        {
        printf("Connect failed: %sn", mysqli_connect_error());
        exit();
        }

if($result=$DBConnect->query("SELECT User_ID, Username, Password FROM tbl_users WHERE Username = {$_SESSION['Username']}"))
     {

while($fieldData=$result->fetch_object())

{
        echo 'Your ID:'.$fieldData->User_ID.'

‘;
echo ‘Your Username:’.$fieldData->Username.’
‘;
echo ‘Your Password:’.$fieldData->Password.’
';

}

}

echo $_SESSION[‘Username’];

$DBConnect->close();

?>[/code]

Don’t embed the Session Variable in the string
instead of
“SELECT User_ID, Username, Password FROM tbl_users WHERE Username = {$_SESSION[‘Username’]}”

use
“SELECT User_ID, Username, Password FROM tbl_users WHERE Username = '”.$_SESSION[‘Username’]."’
note that the '" is a SINGLE quote followed by a DOUBLE quote (After Username = )
and the same with "’ is a DOUBLE quote followed by a SINGLE quote (After the SESSION variable)

The issue with your SQL query was that you put a string variable (the value of $_SESSION[‘username’] in the query directly, without encapsulating it in quotes. This may cause issues or unexpected behaviour, depending on the actual value and the (version of the) database engine.