Php mysql search form

Ok Im new at php mysql programimg from scratch. Been reading some tutorials. I have only found one issue on several tutorials. I setup a database. It has fields and values. When I search the database with

$query = mysql_query(“SELECT * FROM details WHERE name=‘john doe’”);

The results.php script works nd returns the data. When I use a search form to try to populate this

$query = mysql_query(“SELECT * FROM details WHERE name=’$search’”);

It comes back no records. I had another form it gave me the same issue

Here are the scripts.

search.htm

<? $username="xxxxxxx"; $password="xxxxxx"; $database="devgrou1_gtaddress"; mysql_connect(localhost,$username,$password); @mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database"); $query="SELECT * FROM contacts WHERE first='$searchfirst'"; $result=mysql_query($query); $num=mysql_numrows($result); mysql_close(); echo "Database Output

"; ?> <? $i=0; while ($i < $num) { $first=mysql_result($result,$i,"first"); $last=mysql_result($result,$i,"last"); $phone=mysql_result($result,$i,"phone"); $mobile=mysql_result($result,$i,"mobile"); $fax=mysql_result($result,$i,"fax"); $email=mysql_result($result,$i,"email"); $web=mysql_result($result,$i,"web"); ?> <? ++$i; } echo "
Name Phone Mobile Fax E-mail Website
<? echo "$first $last"; ?> <? echo "$phone"; ?> <? echo "$mobile"; ?> <? echo "$fax"; ?> ">E-mail ">Website
";

?>

Results.php

"); print (""); print (""); print (""); print (""); print (""); } //below this is the function for no record!! if (!$variable1) { print ("$XX"); } //end ?>
id name telephone birthday
<? $hostname = "localhost"; // Our DB server. $username="xxxxxxx"; $password="xxxxxx"; $usertable = "details"; // The name of the table you made. $dbName = "devgrou1_gtaddress"; // This is the name of the database you made.

MYSQL_CONNECT($hostname, $username, $password) OR DIE(“DB connection unavailable”);
@mysql_select_db( “$dbName”) or die( “Unable to select database”);
?>