php/mysql database posts from ghosts

Disclaimer: I’m very new to PHP, so please don’t hurt me.

Problem: php script keeps running randomly - no cron jobs are set to run

Detail: I have a webpage that sends information to a php webpage which uses the $_GET method, which then creates and updates records in a mysql database.

When I click a button on the webpage the current page is directed to the php page and the script runs and then redirects back to the original webpage.

The problem is that sometimes once a record has been inserted into the database, several minutes later I will get another post. This is not a double post issue though.

I have added a timestamp to the records and also added lines of code to email me each time the script runs. Just recently I click the button, checked that the record was created, walked away from my computer and 5 minutes later the script ran again and then 1 minute later again and then nothing.

Needless to say this is driving a little nuts.

Does anyone know of a reason why a script would run automatically?

It’s not a cron job and I am certain it’s not a user end double-click issue.

Thank you,
Jim

Hmmm, GHOSTLY code, too… (none posted…)

Let’s see, talk to the gypsy down the road and I am sure she can read your imaginary code
and give you the perfect answer! Good luck with her…

So that’s a “no” on the question I asked?

Well, if I have to say something silly again, I am sorry if it hurts you…

Without knowing a ton about your system setup, server setup, programming code, posting code, form codes and many other things, how can we help you.

To debug this you can check a long list of things. First, does it post when you are not in a browser.
Does it post when your system is down. Did you have a professional look at your PHP code. Does it post when you are using a different system. Does it post when you are on a wireless laptop…