PHP/mySQL based technical evaluation question webform/database

Hello,

I am somewhat new to PHP and I am looking to create a technical evaluation web site & database.

• Set of questions, with a comments box for each question
  • Each question has a specific % or weighting to it
  • Would like to have the results of the evaluation emailed to a specific email address
  • would like the evaluation stored in a mySQL database (currently have xampp installed) and users to be able to access this data upon permissions/logins, if users want access to a previous evaluation they can call it from the website and have it displayed and or exported to excel file.

That’s the base of the evaluation/database that i would like to setup. I have been looking online for scripts but they all seem to lead me to surveys (which are helpful, but don’t have the right kind of calculations and comments that I would like to add to each question).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I should also mention I would like for the site or the questions to be in a webform if possible.

Well, by a webform, I will assume you mean a webpage with a form on it.
So, that is very easy to set up with HTML and FORM tags. Text fields for word inputs and RADIO buttons for option inputs. Just post the form out to a second file which would be PHP to do the percentage calculations and saving of the data into the database. Very easy to do these days. Pulling the data back out of the database is very easy too.

Writing to Excel formats are nearly impossible without an addon package. (Hard to convert data to MS’s format!) But, a great work-around for that section is to output it in CSV format. This is very easy to do with PHP and the user’s can import it into EXCEL with ease.

Now, you mentioned your are somewhat new to PHP… So, have you started your project? Have you put it down on paper yet to lay it out at all? Do you know the database structure yet? What fields you need, etc.?