PHP login security

Hello PHP experts, I am hoping that someone can shed some light on the subject of login security. I am a beginner and i do not know enough about backend programming. Before i babble, let me get to the point:

how is a check for a session variable supposed to be secure? so we simply match a username and password with a database record. I feel like hackers will have no problem getting by a challenge as simple as if (isset($_SESSION[‘username’])).

is it possible to use something like fiddler to set a username to anything, then gain access? i feel very uncomfortable with this method, yet i do not know what i can do to be certain that a user is authentic.

should we assign a secret pin number in a session variable as well? should we consistently check the database for a correct username? should we also verify that any username session variable has also submitted a valid password? should we also lock the session to the domain?

since we cannot see the source code for big corporations, i wonder if, say Microsoft, is challenging a login with a simple if (isset($_SESSION[‘username’]))?

how can this be secure? anyone have suggestions for a better authentication method?

$_SESSION works differently from other super globals and a user can not directly access it from the client side (unline COOKIE, REQUEST, etc).

It works like this:

1. A client sends a request to your PHP script, no session exists at this time.
  2. The PHP script runs session_start, which behinds the scenes:
    • Creates a session store wherever the server has configured it (file, memory)
    • sends a PHPSESSID cookie in the response to the client (cookie only contains the session id, nothing actually stored in the session)
  3. The client stores the PHPSESSID cookie
  4. The client sends a new request including the PHPSESSID cookie
  5. The PHP script runs session_start, which behinds the scenes:
    • sees that the client has a PHPSESSID cookie