php instead of htaccess

I’m new to programming, and have been working with htaccess to secure a directory of mine. File access and that works fine, but I was trying to use the USER:[email protected] format to pass the user login info from a form to the htaccess page to eliminate the popup box.

Unfortunately I can not get this to work with explorer6 or explorer7. I have tried on two different machines. It works fine with netscape. Explorer returns either “windows can not find … check the spelling and try again.” The other minor problem I having is the redirect if the incorrect login info is entered 3 times. It directs to the correct page i have set in htaccess, but it seems the page only loads partially then the popup box comes back. Hit cancel, it loads a little more then the popup box comes back… keeps doing this until the page loads completely.

Anyhow…

I would prefer to use mysql database to store user id and pw and use php to access this info. How can I secure my directory with php instead of htaccess?

the problem with using the user@url with some browsers is a know issue.

it was added as a securety feature as a lot of fishing-mails uses this to make a url look diffrent:

http://[email protected]/rebui … r-pass.php

about using php to do the login:

basic u need a table with the an id, the username and the password (maybe md5 encoded).
then u have to make a html-form to enter the username and password.
and then u need sessions to keep the user info.

i would use a include file doing all of this, beeing included on every side.
[php]session_start();
$loggin_error=’’;

//u may put a logout link somewhere (index.php?logout=logout)
//check if logging out
if(isset($_GET[‘loggout’]))
{
die(
‘’
.‘Loggout’
.’’
.‘

loggout sucsessfull

.‘
back to the homepage

.’’
.’’
);
}

//check if logged in
if(isset($_SESSION[‘user’])){return;}

//check if form submitted
if(isset($_POST[‘username’])
{
//establish the mysqlconection