PHP ignored

I’m a PHP newbie and I have what is probably a trivial problem, but it seems to have stumped me.

A few days back I installed PHP on Windows 10 and I’m using IIS and Chrome to learn how to drive it. All was well and over several days I wrote a bunch of simple test web pages that successfully processed embedded PHP. I then found that after a laptop reboot the test pages no longer worked - the HTML was executed OK but the embedded PHP scripts were ignored. There are no IIS or PHP error messages. I’ve checked the configuration of the environment variables, IIS and PHP and all seem fine as far as I can tell.

I’ve no idea whether the PHP pre-processor is running or even being called. I don’t know whether PHP runs as a background process listening for calls or whether IIS spawns it when it encounters PHP, but I can’t see any background processes in Windows Task Manager that look like they’re related to PHP. Does a PHP listener have to be started as a background process and if so how?

If I invoke any of the test pages from the command line using “php.exe filename.php” then the PHP code executes as expected (of course the HTML does not).

Any suggestions appreciated.

Thx

Using PHP on IIS is always a headache. I would suspect that FastCGI is no longer running, presuming you used something like this to do so in the first place, IIS setup PHP. However, PHP is best left in Linux stacks, which is why most people use setups like XAMPP to run them.