Php dropdown list problems

Hi guys, I’m new to this and need some help please. I am starting this project for my school and and a bit lost as this is new to me and I have been going through a lot of google searched sites with no luck. I cannot seem to get this code to work for me. Please guys help me, pretty please… It has three dropdowns, first one is to select the students first name, then the second is for the surname and lastly the student ID. The actual problem is that I do get the unique list but not the surname list. I am able to see the selected value of the first name via the alert statement but end up with a blank 2nd and 3rd list.

//config.php DB Code
<?php
$db = mysqli_connect("localhost", "root", "", "students");
if (!$db) {
    die("Connection failed: " . mysqli_connect_error());
}
?>

//index.php code for student first dropdown selection
<select onChange="getstudentsurname(this.value);" name="studentfirstname" id="studentfirstname" class="form-control">
    <option value="">Select Student Name</option>
    <?php
    require_once "config.php";
    $result = mysqli_query($db, "SELECT DISTINCT studentfirstname FROM tbl_classreg");
    while ($row = mysqli_fetch_array($result)) {
    ?>
        <option value="<?php echo $row['studentfirstname']; ?>"><?php echo $row["studentfirstname"]; ?></option>
    <?php
    }
    ?>
</select>

//index.php code for student surname dropdown selection
<div class="form-group col-md-12">
    <select name="studentsurname" id="studentsurname" class="form-control">
        <option value="">Select Student Surname</option>
    </select>
</div>

//index.php code for student ID dropdown selection
<div class="form-group col-md-12">
    <select name="studentid" id="studentid" class="form-control">
        <option value="">Select Student ID</option>
    </select>
</div>

<script>
    function getstudentsurname(val) {
        $.ajax({
            type: "POST",
            url: "getstudentsurname.php",