Password_needs_rehash

Hello PHP friends,

today i decided to work on my login scripts. I am a beginner and i just learned how to create a database and use pdo prepared statements this year. My database login is very simple for testing. Thus, i wanted to add a password hash for storing passwords in the database. My code is working but i have questions about the password_needs_rehash function.

my code to hash:

$Hash = password_hash($password, PASSWORD_BCRYPT);

code to compare hashes at login:

if ($username == $userField && password_verify($password, $passField)) {

I see that people use PASSWORD_DEFAULT but i don’t understand how this option is stored. What i mean is that if a new version of PHP changed the default algorithm, then how is PHP supposed to know what it was before? is that in the ini file? should i use PASSWORD_DEFAULT or should i specify an algorithm?

I ask this because I do not know how to implement password_needs_rehash. I don’t really know if i could increase the cost because i don’t have a server yet. I’m still designing my site. Thus, what is the correct way to implement a password_needs_rehash?

Its actually in the password hash itself

[quote]
The prefix “$2a$” or “$2b$” (or “$2y$”) in a hash string in a file indicates that hash string is a bcrypt hash in modular crypt format. The rest of the hash string includes the cost parameter, a 128-bit salt encoded as 22 characters, and 184 bits of the resulting hash value. The Radix-64 encoding uses the unix/crypt alphabet, and is not ‘standard’. The cost parameter specifies a key expansion iteration count as a power of two, which is an input to the crypt algorithm.

For example, the shadow password record $2a$10$N9qo8uLOickgx2ZMRZoMyeIjZAgcfl7p92ldGxad68LJZdL17lhWy specifies a cost parameter of 10, indicating 10 key expansion rounds. The salt is N9qo8uLOickgx2ZMRZoMye and the resulting hash is IjZAgcfl7p92ldGxad68LJZdL17lhWy .[/quote]https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bcrypt