Not updating database - sudden issue?!

Hi, I am hoping for some help, my website has been running for years with a php code that goes to my sql database and updates the quantities of stock of our products, this suddenly stopped working this week.
It is connecting to the database and is running through to the shopping cart with the correct values, it is just not writing through to the database.
Unfortunately someone built this code for me and i just added it to my html pages, so I have limited knowledge on how to fix it.
I can see that the file that says update stock and i can see in that file the bit thats supposed to update the tables but have no idea where it could be not working?
Any help on this would be great, i think this must be the code where the problem is but who knows!
Thank you
Sam

<? // Get Value from Mals Cart

$mystring = $_REQUEST[‘cart’]; //echo $mystring; $username = $_REQUEST[‘username’]; $id = $_REQUEST[‘id’]; $ip = $_REQUEST[‘ip’]; $order_date = $_REQUEST[‘order_date’]; $method = $_REQUEST[‘method’]; $cart = $_REQUEST[‘cart’]; $discount = $_REQUEST[‘discount’]; $subtotal = $_REQUEST[‘subtotal’]; $shipping = $_REQUEST[‘shipping’]; $tax = $_REQUEST[‘tax’]; $total = $_REQUEST[‘total’]; $shipping_zone = $_REQUEST[‘shipping_zone’]; $inv_name = $_REQUEST[‘inv_name’]; $inv_company = $_REQUEST[‘inv_company’]; $inv_addr1 = $_REQUEST[‘inv_addr1’]; $inv_addr2 = $_REQUEST[‘inv_addr2’]; $inv_state = $_REQUEST[‘inv_state’]; $inv_zip = $_REQUEST[‘inv_zip’]; $inv_country = $_REQUEST[‘inv_country’]; $del_name = $_REQUEST[‘del_name’]; $del_addr1 = $_REQUEST[‘del_addr1’]; $del_addr2 = $_REQUEST[‘del_addr2’]; $del_state = $_REQUEST[‘del_state’]; $del_zip = $_REQUEST[‘del_zip’]; $del_country = $_REQUEST[‘del_country’]; $tel = $_REQUEST[‘tel’]; $fax = $_REQUEST[‘fax’]; $email = $_REQUEST[‘email’]; $message = $_REQUEST[‘message’];

// Connect to Inventory Database