Not getting result as expected

I am new to PHP/sql. This should be simple, but it is not processing as I expected it to. I just want the user to be able to enter text (assetTag) and the query return the matching result. Maybe I am making this more complicated that it has to be. The ifelse statement after the form, never is true and I am getting the echo “Enter an id” all the time. Even when it’s the first time, it doesn’t seem to wait for an answer in the text box.

<?php  //query

require_once 'login.php';

$db_password, $db_database);
$db_server = new mysqli ($db_hostname,$db_username, $db_password, $db_database);
$inputAssetTag = "";

//Check connection
if (mysqli_connect_errno())
{
	echo "Unable to connect to database";
} else {
	echo "Connected" . "<br />";

if (!isset($_GET['iputAssetTg'])){
		echo "here";

?>
		<form action="AssetTagSearch3.php" method ="GET">
		Please enter an Asset ID tag:
		<br><br> <input type="text" name="inputAssetTag" value="<?php echo $inputAssetTag; ?>"> <br><br>
		<input  type ="submit" value = "Enter">

</form>
<?php
		if (!empty($inputAssetTag)) {
			$inputAssetTag = $_GET['inputAssetTag'];
			echo "Perfect";
			} else {
				echo "Enter an id";

}
}

}

?>

You have two typos in the posted code. The first one is a fragment of the database connection line that is probably just a copy/paste mistake when you posted the code here. The other is in the name of your $_GET input, that would prevent your code from doing what you expect, nor produce a php error, since it is inside of an isset() statement.

Your code for any page should be laid out in this general order -

1. Initialization - define, create things your page needs.
  2. Post method form processing - process any post method form data. Not used for what you are currently doing, a search operation.
  3. Get method business logic - get/produce data needed to display the page.