No database selected error

Hi,

I am very new to PHP and trying to write a small bit of code to insert a record to the database. The code gives me a No database Selected error. I have tried to check the connection to the database and it does get connected.

Thanks for your help in advance

[php]

<?php require_once('../Connections/connect.php'); ?> <?php $today = date("Y-m-d H:i:s"); if ($_POST['form_submitted'] == '1') { ##User is registering, insert data until we can activate it $activationkey = mt_rand().mt_rand(); $user_name = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST[user_name]); $user_last = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST[user_last]); $user_pass = mysql_real_escape_string (md5($_POST[user_pass])); $user_email = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST[user_email]); $telephone = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST[telephone]); $sql="INSERT INTO local_advertisers (user_name, user_last, user_pass, user_email, telephone, registerdate, activationkey, registrationstatus) VALUES ('$user_name', '$user_last', '$user_pass', '$user_email', '$telephone', '$today', '$activationkey', 'verify')"; if (!mysql_query($sql)) { die('Error: ' . mysql_error()); } ?>

[/php]

What’s in /Connections/connect.php?

You need to connect to the database with a valid username/password and select the database you want to use.

From php.net

[php]<?php

$link = mysql_connect(‘localhost’, ‘mysql_user’, ‘mysql_password’);
if (!$link) {
die('Not connected : ’ . mysql_error());
}

// make foo the current db
$db_selected = mysql_select_db(‘foo’, $link);
if (!$db_selected) {
die ('Can’t use foo : ’ . mysql_error());
}
?>[/php]

The error tells you what’s wrong… check your conenct.php

My connect. php contains the following. the connect to the database does work as I am able to connect to the database and do a select query.

connect. php

[php]