New Help - Search Engine PHP/mySQL

Hey hows it going? Okay so I am EXTREMELY new to PHP, as in, this my first venture into it haha. I have a lot of experience with HTML and CSS, so codings not new to me, just PHP. I have a pretty basic code I got from a “tutorial” site, that I am trying to alter to fit what I am trying to do. I’ll give you as much detail as possible because I know thats very important in getting the help I need.

First off, I am building a search engine. But to search only fields I have input myself.

So I have page 1 which is “search.php”. This is just a simple search form. It “GETS”, and displays the results on “search_result.php”.

I also have a mySQL table setup called “news”. Which consists of:
ID: Int11, NOT NULL, Auto Increment, and Primary Key
Name: Varchar(255), NULL
Keywords: Varchar(255), NULL
Address: Varchar(255), NULL
Phone: Varchar(255), NULL

I want it to use Name, Message, and Keywords as the keywords. However, in the Search_result.php, I want “Keywords” omitted from the display, just used as a reference.

Now I’ve run into a couple problems. I had 1 very simple PHP code that was letting me display the results on “search_results.php”, but it wasnt actually searching. It would just display everything that I had input into my tables. So I went to a much more complex code (I know, the simple code wont work, so lets try an advanced one right?) I found on a tutorial site, and tried to edit to fit my criteria.

But I end up with the error:

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/content/d/j/m/djmac14/html/mcpin/search_result2.php on line 37 Couldn't execute query

Where line 37 is:

$row_num_links_main =mysql_num_rows ($numresults);

Here is the 2nd set of code I tried. Please if anyone can offer any help. I’m using this basically as my “introduction” to PHP, and damn its complex!

<?php //connect to mysql

mysql_connect(“server”,“dbname”,“dbpass”);
mysql_select_db(“dbname”);