Nested IF statements and running code - oh my!

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to php, but I was making a login script for my website, the script worked beautifully but it was enclosed in an IF statement to stop the username/password wrong message appearing the first time the page was loaded. This worked fine again but i disabled the IF statement for testing - only it still logs in!
I’ve pasted my code below but it has me stumped as to why this code block runs at all?

Please help!

<?php
	if ($_POST["Username1"] != $_POST["Username1"]){
	// To protect MySQL injection
	$myusername = $_POST["Username1"];
	$mypassword = $_POST["Password1"];
	$myusername = stripslashes($myusername);
	$mypassword = stripslashes($mypassword);
	$myusername = mysql_real_escape_string($myusername);
	$mypassword = mysql_real_escape_string($mypassword);
	$sql="SELECT PID FROM login WHERE username='$myusername' and password='$mypassword'";
	$pid=mysql_query($sql);
	$count=mysql_num_rows($pid);

if($count==1){
	$_SESSION['UID']=$myusername;
	$_SESSION['PID']=$pid;
	echo '<script language="Javascript">';
	echo 'window.location="main.php"';
	echo '</script>';
	}
	else {
	echo "Wrong Username or Password";
	}
	}
	?>

the working code before was identical, but the top line read if ($_POST[“Username1”] != null){

also i have tried if (1==2){ - but even that still logs in!
any help anyone can give would be much appreciated.

also i have tried if (1==2){ - but even that still logs in!

This is not possible. You need to check your other code. Maybe your login form’s action is set to different url, etc.
As an option try to coment out all these lines you want disabled, and I’m sure you will see it still logs in.

Ah yeah, you’re right. revisiting it showed its not working now… i’ve made several changes, but none i thought would have affected this. Must have been a mistake on my part.

Similarly though, i’ve tried to make a redirect back to the login page (from the main page) if the user is not logged in.