Need help with include() function

Hello, I am having trouble with the include() function. I have my index.html file in the document root directory, but when I try to tell it to include a file from the document root directory by entering include(’/external/menu.html’) it won’t work. For some reason it doesn’t like searching through the document root directory when I use a file that is in the document root directory. It works fine if I do the same thing from a subdirectory though. Here is the error I get:

Warning: main(/external/menu.html): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:Program FilesApache GroupApache2htdocsindex.html on line 21

Warning: main(): Failed opening ‘/external/menu.html’ for inclusion (include_path=’.;c:php4pear’) in C:Program FilesApache GroupApache2htdocsindex.html on line 21

I don’t know if it is suppose to do that or not.
I am pretty new to PHP, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Emir

Well obviously you are on a windows system. I am not sure if it’s the same on a windows system or not, however when you type the INCLUDE with a path to the file and lead it off with a forward slash / that is not the document root. that is the system root. (in linux anyway).

If you want the doucment root, you can either specifiy the intire path (relative to c:) or a relative path from your current location.

e.g.
You are in C:inetpubwwwroothomescripts
you want to include a file located in c:inetpubwwwroothome

You can either do either of the following:

include (‘c:inetpubwwwroothomeincludedfile.inc’)
or
include (’…includedfile.inc’)

Again I am not sure how they work with the windows. In unix/linux it would be

include (’/inetpub/wwwroot/home/includedfile.inc’)
or
include (’…/includedfile.inc’)

Hope this helps

May I ask a quick question on the subject… the two dots before the slash tell the server to go up 1 directory… Right?