Need help with elseif php8

Hi all,

I’ve been a site for years running on my synology server. After an update it does not support php 5.x anymore. Now my website is broken and I have a look at it for days but can’t find the solution. I’m not a developer, it’s just for fun…

Can any one help me out?

I’m getting this error message at my website:

“Parse error: syntax error, unexpected token “elseif”, expecting end of file in /volume1/web/linkcontainer.php on line 22”

The specific code is (partial):

if ($username=="www") {
	$userid=1;
} else {
	$sql = mysqli_query($connection, "SELECT id, gebrnaam FROM users WHERE gebrnaam = '$username'");
	while ($res = mysqli_fetch_assoc($sql)) {
    	trigger_error (mysqli_error ());
	}
} elseif (mysqli_num_rows($res)=="") {
		header("location:aanmeld.php");
		exit; 
} else {
    	while ($row = mysqli_fetch_assoc ($res)) {
		$userid = $row['id'];
		$username = $row['gebrnaam'];
	}
}

Many thanks in advance!

WKR
Marc

Any else {…} branch must be at the end of a conditional block of code. Therefore, you cannot have an elseif() right after the closing } for an else.

The posted logic doesn’t make programming sense. The first if/else is to detect if the $username == ‘www’ or not. The code inside the else {…} branch should completely handle the ‘or not’ case.

Some points about the posted code -

1. If you build the sql query statement in a php variable, it makes testing easier (you can echo the sql query to see what it is or to run it in a tool like phpmyadmin) and it helps prevent typo mistakes by separating the sql query syntax as much as possible from the php syntax.
  2. Don’t put external, unknown, dynamic values directly into an sql query statement, where any sql special character can break the sql query syntax, producing an error. Instead, use a prepared query. This would be a good time to switch to the much simpler and more modern PDO extension.