Need help to understand how to change look of dated PHP site

Hi, I hope this is the right area to ask this question, my apologies if it is not.

I’m a tech, and feel safer talking to other techs rather than a salesman who will possibly/probably just tell me whatever they need to say, just to get the sale!!!

My question is about an older PHP site that looks very dated … but still functions perfectly well.

What is involved in ‘modernising’ the look … without changing any of the functionality of the site.

It’s a business directory, with ability for people to sign up and create/modify their own business listing, and also to purchase and pay for monthly adverts within the site.

I’m not in any great hurry to do it … but would like to understand what might be involved before I go looking for a programmer.

My biggest concern is to not break what already works. :slight_smile:

Thanks.

In theory you should be able to just change the theme of the site. This can be just changing the base template (with html head, css, scripts etc) and all the output that generate html so you use the right layout and ids/classes to match your new template.

Really though older sites often have little to no separation of code and view so the template (view) parts are scattered all over the code. You also lack a lot of what is expected today in what data shows, how data is fetched (javascript without site reload) which will all have to be done again. And this is just the visual/ui, there are probably a lot of changes to best practices when it comes to the rest of the code as well, security, etc.

It’s kinda hard to know without seeing the actual code, but there’s a reason you often get pitched a new site if you ask for a redesign.

Hi Jim, Thanks very much for your reply, it makes a lot of sense.

Not what I was hoping to hear of course :slight_smile: … but it is what it is I guess.