Just saying "Hi" (includes discussion of programming practices)

Hi all. New guy to the forum.

Just got back into coding/scripting/programming (whatever you like to call it).

It’s been a while, but my first experience was PHP and I’m looking to rekindle my relationship with it.

Seems to be a lot of putting down of PHP across the www, but I can’t think of any good reason not to dive in again.

I’m sure you’ll be hearing lots from me on the beginner forum (although I’m not an absolute beginner).

My initial focus is on security. I’ve been brushing up on prepared statement use; which I think pretty much negates sql injection issues, as I understand it?

Now moving on to cross site scripting. For this, I have implemented csrf token usage for any forms on my site(s) and welcome any other recommendations you may have. High level suggestions of reading material welcomed.

Thanks for reading

/Danny

You’re correct; using prepared statements properly completely removes any risk of SQL injection attacks.

CSRF tokens are useful to prevent cross site scripting; you should also be sure to escape any output created dynamically by your program. PHP has a useful built in function for doing this for HTML output: htmlspecialchars:

// Not safe:
echo someResult();

// Safer:
echo htmlspecialchars(someResult());
1 Like

Thanks for that tip, skawid.

Interestingly, I had just been reading that $_SERVER[“PHP_SELF”] is not considered secure and instead, you should use $_SERVER[“SCRIPT_NAME”], but still encode it with htmlentities($_SERVER[“SCRIPT_NAME”]).

I guess this is along the same lines you have described above. I am just trying to understand the situational differences between htmlentities() and htmlspecialchars().

Interestingly, I previously used to more concerned about what was being put in to a DB, now it’s all about securing what is coming out.