Issues with mail() command

I wrote a PHP program to automate sending messages to an address list I maintain in a mySQL database. SOMETIMES the mail is tagged as SPAM; however, I can send a message directly from my gMail account to the recipients who have told me my automated mail is tagged as SPAM, so I am guessing something may be missing from the headers that identifies mail as legitimate.

Here’s my code, and all suggestions are welcome (I have removed personal info from the code below; actual Subject and Content contains specific information, and is conversational, not pitching anything):

SORRY FOR THE POOR FORMATTING – I’M A NEWBIE HERE, AND UNSURE OF THE BEST WAY TO ATTACH CODE

<?php

/* All form fields are automatically passed to the PHP script through the array $_POST. */
$SentFrom   = $_POST['SentFrom'];

/* Other variables to set up eMail addresses  */
$__AT__ = "@";
$__DOT__ = ".";
$eol = "\r\n";

$email6 = 'My.Name' . $__AT__ . 'gMail' . $__DOT__ . 'com';

/*  Headers for message */
$headers = 'From: My Name <' . $email6 . '>' . $eol;
$headers .= 'Reply-to: My Name <' . $email6 . '>' . $eol;
$headers .= 'Return-Path: My Name <' . $email6 . '>' . $eol;    // these two to set reply address 
$headers .= 'Message-ID: <' . $now . ' TheSystem@' . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] . '>' . $eol; 
$headers .= 'X-Mailer: PHP v' . phpversion() . $eol;          // These two to help avoid spam-filters 

$headers .= 'Content-type: text/html; charset=us-ascii' . $eol;

/* Reply To Address */
$additional = "[email protected]";

$todays_date = date("Y-m-d");
$today = strtotime($todays_date);

/*  Content (I have removed personal info for the purpose of this post)  */
$Subject = 'eMail Testing';

$msg = 'THIS IS A TEST. (actual messages have relevant content from database)'  . $eol;;

/* ---------------------------------------

MAIL() COMMAND is...
mail ( string to, string subject, string message [, string additional_headers [, string additional_parameters]] )