Is there another way to handle this?

OK i have a form automatically being submitted by javascript. The problem - People turn off javascript. So can this be done with PHP with the header function (I have never used it before)? I also tried it with the HTML meta refresh tag and that didn’t work. Anyone have any other ideas for how to submit the form automatically? Or am I just SOL and just let the user hit the back button?

if ($error)
{
    // OR RESET STEPCOMPLETE AND RELOAD PAGE
    echo "<CENTER><FONT COLOR = "RED" SIZE = "+2">Error: Input not an acceptable table</FONT></CENTER>";
    ?>
    <FORM METHOD = "post" ACTION = "qualifiers.php" Name = "stepBack">
    <INPUT TYPE = "hidden" NAME = "stepComplete" VALUE = "">
    </FORM>
    <!-- SUBMITS FORM AUTOMATICALLY -->
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!--
    setTimeout('document.stepBack.submit()',1000);
    //-->
    </SCRIPT>
    <?php
    exit;
}

you cannot post data with the meta refresh tag nor can you do it with header(), i suggest just using a submit button.

You can always get your page to generate a POST request and fetch the page from the server, and display the result. If you are using php >4.3, you can use the stream to handle the request (see stream_context_create(), there is a great article in PHP|Architect in the May issue). Otherwise, you will need to depend on cURL, which is an external library and may not be available everywhere.

Thanks Bane. Have read parts of the May issue - Shifletts corner (always makes me paranoid which is why I am trying to make the site tighter) as well as “accessable websites” and struggling through George’s article on regex - so I guess I should also take a closer look at the cURL article. sigh just when I think I am getting a grip on this stuff - I find out just how much I don’t know… :)

OK Bane this is what I have and it still isn’t reloading

/* HANDLE SUBMIT WITH JAVASCRIPT AND HTML 
THIS WORKS BUT WHAT ABOUT IF JAVASCRIPT IS TURNED OFF?