Include/require work but include_once/require_once suddenly do not

Several of my PHP (7.2) apps stopped working this morning if they use include_once or require_once, but they worked fine yesterday. The same code also works fine on the same server, but other domains with minimal difference in vhost configs and no htaccess files (Apache 2.4). Also, things work if I chase down the error and remove “_once” from everything. I’ve been using PHP for almost 20 years and never seen anything like this. The error I get looks like the following, but it happens for any include_once/require_once.

include_once(): Failed opening ‘/whatever_path/whatever_file.php’ for inclusion (include_path=’.:/usr/share/php’) in /another_path/another_file.php on line 24

PLEASE HELP!

Sounds like the path is different, not that the call is wrong.

But it works fine if I do

include("/whatever_path/whatever_file.php");

Just not

include_once("/whatever_path/whatever_file.php");

That is odd. My first thought was that the file is already included and that would prevent it from including it again, but that wouldn’t throw the error…

Right. I thought that too, but as you said that wouldn’t result in an error.

Php has a reoccurring history of the _once() statements not working due to not being able to normalize and figure out the real path of files. This however is php version specific. Has your php version been changed by you or your hosting?

There should be a second error message before the one you posted stating why php thinks the file cannot be included/required.

Is there a reason you are not using just ‘require’? The _once() versions are actually slower because they must examine the list of already included/required files.