I need support with increment

Greetings,

I just started coding PHP 2 days ago. I decided that I would make some PHP Based PHP.

To do so I first used imagecopy to make myself an “avatar system” that looks like this :

hxxp://website.com/avatar.php?skin=1&armor=1&hat=1&face=1&item1=1&item2=1&hair=1

There will belong the names of the png images that will be used to display the various items. I name give them numbers names because at a later time, once I am more skilled, I will make an item table into mysql and make PHP fetch into this table.

Meanwhile, I am building my registration page on which I want users to be able to set their characters.

http://img1.uploadscreenshot.com/images/orig/3/8012253478-orig.jpg

In order to make this thing work, I decided to pick a pre-made JS script on the internet… it seemed easier, and I didn’t want to bother too much on this part of my project lol. So, it looks like this :

[code]function sumhair() {

document.getElementsByName(“avatar”)[0].setAttribute(“src”, “avatar.php?skin=1&armor=1&hat=1&face=1&item1=1&item2=1&hair=<? echo ++$un; ?>”);
}

function neghair() {
document.getElementsByName(“avatar”)[0].setAttribute(“src”, “avatar.php?skin=1&armor=1&hat=1&face=1&item1=1&item2=1&hair=<? echo --$un; ?>”);

}[/code]

I would have JS codes of eachs defining functions for increament and decreament for the arrow buttons.

<input value=">>" name="next_hair" type="button" onClick="sumhair()"/> <input value="<<" name="next_hair" type="button" onClick="neghair()"/>

Setted up through an included js file. Okayyyyy… So! Here is my issue. I do not understand how increamentation works. I do want to make incrementing buttons for my avatar design, so it switch items. I tried the following as of now :

[php]$un = 1;

<? echo ++$un; ?> // This being used in the links written within JS script[/php]