I need a little help with a sniplet of code as im very new to PHP development

Hello there i need a little help as im very new to php and i need a little help on something. I need some code that will display an error message or a html form depending on what is or isn’t in the value feild of a table in a mysql database

and these are the values i have to use in the table of the mysql database. Well the ones i wish to use anyway.

`user_id``value``created_at`

these are the total that can be used

`id``field_id``user_id``value``created_at`

What it is i want to do is if the value of value is empty show a html form and if the value of value has data in it then show/echo an error message that i can wrap a CSS

class around it saying "Sorry you already have value that you created on created_at" This is a message that will be individual to every registered user defined by their personal row in the users table in the database.

Thanks for the help in advance! ::slight_smile:

[php]

<?php $con = mysql_connect(hostname,username,password); // the connection to ur database $db = mysql_select_db(dbname); // select the database name $rs = mysql_query("select * from table_name"); // the sql query to fetch records from ur table if(mysql_num_rows($rs)>0) { if($row['value']=='') // display the html form { ?>
 <form>
      <!-- design your html form here -->
 </form>
 <?php } else // display the css div with message
 { ?>   
 <div class="cssname">Sorry, you already have data created on <?= $row['created_at']; ?>.
 <?php } 

}
else
echo ‘Failed to retrieve records’;
?>
[/php]

Hiya there, :smiley:

Thanks for your help and your php code submittion however it isnt working :frowning: if you see the code below and scroll down to line 83 where your code starts. See if its something that im doing wrong!!! all the other code above line 83 is my code thats in the page where i want your code to work in.

[php]<?php

include("./xmlapi.php"); //XMLAPI cpanel client class