HTTP ERROR 500

Newbie here … FYI - When I ask for help I am asking as much about how to diagnose, research, and resolve the issue; more so than I am asking for being given the specific solution. I like to understand so that I develop my skills.

My ISP recently changed/upgraded servers and this error is now occurring. The upgrade may not be related, but the timing is a starting point. Nothing else has changed.

Action: Logging in, login.php file is executing. The error immediately occurs, no login web pages are displayed.

When I look at the error_log file (I only just discovered this file browsing around in the directory) there are a LOT of entries (there are other areas that need some clean up. But, back to the issue at hand. Here is the error:

[31-Jan-2018 17:19:36 UTC] PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function session_register() in [pathname removed]/login.php on line 3

• The pathname identifies the file on my domain.

login.php file is attached.
Sidebar: There are 88 lines of code in the file. I figure it is better to upload the file rather than place the code here. Do one of you wizards have a guideline/rule of thumb… If the number of lines of code exceeds x (?) upload the file.

1st question: How do I figure out “line 3”?
I figure once I know what I am looking for I can (hopefully) figure out why it is not working.
If, by chance, you review the code and can give my guidance on my next steps, i would be grateful.

Ed

login.php.txt (3.36 KB)

First thing first. Check the documentation. Based on that, your server is now updated to 5.4 or greater and that function no longer exists.

How to deal with that, in this case, is that you are no longer required to register the session name, just use it.

[php]$_SESSION[‘user’][/php]
and
[php]$_SESSION[‘uname’][/php]
OR
[php]$_SESSION = [‘user’, ‘uname’];[/php]

Are fine to use on their own.