How to sort a filelist array so that folders are first?

I am fairly new to PHP and have been struggling for a few days on something that seems trivial. All I’m try to do is sort an array of files and folders so that the folders are listed first and then the files are alphabetically listed after. The files are coming from an FTP server and are being read into the array like this:

$backdir = substr($ftp_remote_dir, 0, strrpos $ftp_remote_dir, "/")); if($backdir == "") { $backdir = "/"; } $mylist = array(); $mylist = $newftp->get_file_list($mydir); rsort($mylist); // $files = $newftp->parse_ftp_rawlist($mylist);

The rsort puts the folders first but then sorts the files in to reverse size order. Please can someone put me out of my misery and tell me what I have to do to get them sorted so the folders are first then the files after all in alphabetical order

Many thanks. Ben. :cry:

The same question was asked a few days ago.

http://phphelp.com/forums/viewtopic.php … ight=usort

I read that post earlier and tried that and it didn’twork. Please can you spoon-feed me and type exactly what I have to type for it to work for my specific situation.

many thanks

Try something out, I’ll correct errors and point you in the right direction. I don’t like spoon-feeding. Either that, or ask more specific questions. What is blocking you?

I have tried adding the code that you helped the other guy with but this doesn’t appear to do what I need.

It is seperating the files from the folders but the files are still being listed in size order and not alphabetical order and the folders are being listed last.

This is the complete code listing for what I’m trying to do. I hope this is not too garbled for you to read:

[code]