how to retun results for a misspelled query

I am working on a site that has people ask for the name of a business.(Sorry if you read my other question) How can I build into the form a way to have the person spell part of the name, or only enter in one or two letters?
I am relatively new at this so any help would be appreciated.

Brian

In the form… in the input field maxlength… SQL will allow you to search for parts of words… Check out using LIKE with wildcards in the
WHERE statement. If you have no clue what a WHERE statement is never mind how to use LIKE in it with a “wildcard???”… You can check the manual ( http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/SELECT.html for WHERE) ( http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Strin … tions.html for LIKE and wildcards) or here ( http://sqlcourse.com/select.html ).

Good luck and I hope this helps.

Lig,
Seems like you are the man on this forum so maybe you can help out a little.

I am trying to learn how to use an <href=> tag in my html.
I used this line of code:
B

passed it to this:

$db=mysql_select_db($db_name,$conn) or die(mysql_error());
$sql = "SELECT id,restName, restAddress, restCity, restState,restZip, restCuisine, restCuisine02,restType, restPhone, restFax, restWeb, deliveryRadius,
delivery_time, restHours, restFeature, restMap FROM $table_name WHERE restName = like b%;

$result= mysql_query($sql,$conn) or die(mysql_error());

//start the while loop
while ($row= mysql_fetch_array($result)) {
$id=$row[‘id’];
$restName=$row[‘restName’];
$restAddress=$row[‘restAddress’];
$restCity=$row[‘restCity’];
etc, etc,

and I get an error:

Parse error: parse error, expecting T_STRING' orT_VARIABLE’ or `T_NUM_STRING’ in /home/western/public_html/show_rest_alph.php on line 21

I am just starting to use the url pass of the data, however, I cannot seem to get it to work. I understand the queries perfectly, but it is the php that is giving me problems.

Thanks for the help,
Brian