How to have a unique value in a database?

MySQL and PHP newbie here.

Here’s a description of my issue:

I have a table called “Items”. The primary key column for this table is “item_id”

I have a table called “Images”.

“Images” contains a column named “image_item_id” This contains a value that links the image to the “item_id” in the “Items” table.

“Images” contains a column named “image_type”. The value of type will be either “main” or “secondary”.

I only ever want 1 instance of “main” to associated with “image_item_id”. All other instances are to be “secondary”.

I’m not sure how to go about doing this, or even if it is possible.

I’m guessing that if I do this with PHP, then when I add an image with a “image_type” value of “main”, then I would have code that would check all other instances of the matching “image_item_id”, and if their values are “main”, then change them to “secondary”?

I think I have the knowledge to create the code for this, but before I start fumbling my way to make the code, I just wanted to check if there was a better way to do this (either through PHP or with the settings of the MySQL table).

You need to create a unique constraint in the DB using both columns.

Thank you for the reply, however I’m just a little too inexperienced to understand this.

By using UNIQUE, wouldn’t that prevent me from using “secondary” more than once?

I want to allow multiple values of “secondary” and only one value of “main” per “image_item_id”.

Based on the code below, how would I apply UNIQUE to do this?

CREATE table images (
image_id PRIMARY KEY AUTO_INCREMENT,
image_name VARCHAR(120) NOT NULL,
image_type VARCHAR(15) NOT NULL,
image_mini_id TINYINT
);

I think I’d just add the main image id to the item table. Easy fix