How to enter form data into database

I got this project dropped in my lap, and I’am not quite sure how to move forward with it.
Even though I work as a computer tech, my field is hardware, malware removal and networking. PHP programming is totally new to me.

The company I work for is a not-for-profit organization, we provide medical services for people who can not afford to go to the regular doctor. We need a way to keep track of our patients and their visits.

I have a form created, with name, address, phone number, zip code, but I do not know how to get that information into the database.

I also need a way to make sure the information is not a duplicate.

Here is an example, that is close to what you need. Assuming we are working with MySQL database. First, create a file named db.php where we will define several constants to store MySQL database information, as well as connect to the database:

db.php[php]<?php

// Database settings

define(“DBName”,“db_name”);
define(“HostName”,“localhost”);
define(“UserName”,“db_user”);
define(“Password”,“passw”);

// Connecting to MYSQL database

$mysqlink=mysql_connect(HostName,UserName,Password) or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db(DBName,$mysqlink);

?>[/php]

Next, let’s create a script that we will use just one time - to create database structure. In this example we will create just one table contacts. We will name this file create.php:

create.php[php]<?php

// connecting to MySQL database

include(‘db.php’);

// Creating MySQL database

if(!mysql_query("CREATE DATABASE IF NOT EXISTS ".DBName)){ echo mysql_error();}
else { echo ‘Database created.
’; }

// Creating table in MySQL database

if(!
mysql_query("CREATE TABLE contacts(

ID                    int(  4) not null auto_increment primary key,

ContactName       varchar(128) default '',
Address           varchar(128) default '',
City              varchar( 64) default '',
State             varchar(  2) default '',
Zip               varchar( 10) default '',