How secure is "mail" function?

Hello all. I’m quite new at this, so I apologize if this is a really stupid question.

I’m setting up a basic log-in system with a password retrieve option. All passwords are hashed with MD5, and all posts are sanitized to prevent MySQL injection.

If a user forgets his password and answers the security question correctly, his password gets reset to a random 8-character string. A non-hashed copy of that string gets sent to the corresponding email address pulled from the MySQL database. The email is sent using the basic mail function:

mail ($email, ‘Your Login Information.’, $message);

Now, did I just throw away all the security I’ve been trying to preserve? Is there a better way to do this?

Any input is appreciated. Once again, I apologize if the answer is stupidly obvious.

No such thing as a stupid question and its pretty valid. Md5() encryption can’t be broken without the use of several super computers. As long as its entered into the db table that way, you’re fine. Putting it into an email before the md5 is used is iffy. You’re assuming that only one person is reading their mail. Its something that has to be done though.

Richei is correct! Nothing to worry about.

But, I would add one thing. First, the new random 8 character password should be set to be valid for a limited time. I like to use a very short time frame. Something like 48 hours or maybe 24… This would be indicated to the user. “You MUST access your account and change your password within 24 hours!”…

This protects someone who is tracking the person as they also have to read their email and reply in time.
If the owner/user resets their password, give them 24 hours to reset it. If they are resetting it, they
most likely will respond immediately, so even 1 hour is usually enough. Depends on how fast their email
client is in getting mail back… You can also send a verification email to them and not allow an email