hopefully an easy question

So I need some help grouping I think. I have a list of master_id’s in a table with a list of family_id’s for a family address book. each entry gets one master_id, then as many family_id’s as I need to assign them so far up to 3 but most have 2. So my table looks something like:

master_id|family_id
1|1
2|1
2|2
3|1
3|3
4|1
4|2
5|1
5|2
6|1
6|4

What I have set up is to have a family selected so it will return only where family_id = $_POST[fam_id]
I need it to now consider whatever the 2nd family_id for that master_id is and group or order by that number. Does that make sense? How can I do this?

This is my select statement so far:

$sel_id= “(select master_id from master_family where family_id = ‘$_POST[fam_id]’ order by master_id)”;

Thanks for any help I can get on this!

if i understand correct, your trying to select all members of the same family??

here’s a query that will do that,
$_POST[‘id’] will determine which family to choose:
[php]<?php
$query = “SELECT * FROM master_family WHERE master_id = $_POST[‘id’]”;
$result = mysql_query($query);

echo $_POST[‘id’]; // show the master id (IE: which family)
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC))
{
echo $row[‘family_id’]; // show each family member id
}
?>[/php]
Hope this helps,
:wink: