Help with Arrays

Hello,

I’m fairly new to php and still am trying to grasp the concept of an array. What I’m trying to do is create several mysql query’s that will insert data based on user input from a form.

In this case I am letting them select multiple states:

[code]

State(s): *

<?php $query2 = mysql_query("SELECT name,short FROM states") or die(myql_error()); while($s = mysql_fetch_array($query2)){ $name = $s['name']; $short = $s['short']; ?>

: <?=$name;?>

<? } ?> [/code]

Once they submit this information it will save their id as well as the states they have selected. However, I can’t get it to work right. The state value remains empty once it is inserted into the database.

I’ve looked high and low for a solution to this, but can’t seem to piece it together. Is there anyone that can help me?

Well, after a few hours of being away from the computer I came back and figured it out.

Here’s what I did for anyone out there looking to do something similar:

Starting with a multiple select I pulled values from my states table in my database. And associated the input with the state array by using “name=state[]”.

<p><label>State(s): *</label><br />
<select multiple name="state[]">
<?php
$query2 = mysql_query("SELECT name,short FROM states") or die(myql_error());
while($row = mysql_fetch_array($query2)){
?>
<option value="<?=$row['short'];?>"><?php print $row['name'].' ('.$row['short'].')'; ?></option>
<? } ?>
</select>
</p>

When the form is posted I did this:

$state = $_POST['state'];
  foreach($state as $key => $value){
      mysql_query("INSERT INTO partner_filters (id, active_flag, partid, product, cpl, min_loan_amount, min_p_price, min_p_value, max_ltv, state, ex_credit, go_credit, fa_credit, po_credit) VALUES ('', '$active', '$partid', '$product', '$cpl', '$minloan', '$minpprice', '$minpval', '$maxltv', '$value', '$excellent', '$good', '$fair', '$poor')") or die(mysql_error());
  }