getting php5.2 setup to connect to sql5

I have just installed Apache2.2.3 , php5.2 and mysql 5.
My question is: How do i setup, or need to do to get php5.2 to connect to mysql5.

I am an absolute beginner and really would like to get started in learning so need to get these sorted :)

Is the apache working?

• Connect to the server and see if you get the default page.

Are you able to parse PHP pages?

• create a file on your webserver called phpinfo.php
  • in the file put the following: <?php phpinfo(); ?>
  • access the page by going to the server via http and enter the phpinfo.php (i.e. http://server.com/phpinfo.php )
  • you should get a detailed list about your php installation.

Is your MySQL Running?

• This is more system dependent for connecting. I use a Linux system and can connect via multiple methods (MyODBC, mysql command line, phpMyAdmin via web, sqlyog, etc…)
  • Verify that your MySQL server is running. From there it’s a simple matter of providing appropriate credentials to the application to access the intended data by using mysql_connect (see MySQL MyODBC for details)

Yes php5.2 and apache2.2.3 are working fine ,it just i’m learning from a book and when i tried to load this test example in to verify mysql was working all i got was a blank web page

Mysql Connection Test

<?php $connection = mysql_connect ( "localhost", "root", "") or die ( "Sorry - unable to connect to Mysql" ); echo ( "Congratulations - you connected to Mysql" ); ?>

First I would refer you to http://phphelp.com/forums/posting.php for info on posting code… It just makes it so much easier to read posts.

Next, you probably want to look at your connection line

[php]
$connection = mysql_connect ( “localhost”, “root”, “”)
[/php]
If this WERE correct that means you would be connecting as the ROOT user with NO PASSWORD… VERY BAD INDEED!!!

I hope that is not the case.

the syntax for the mysql_connect should be (in it’s very basic form)

[php]