Getting and outputting the result of a function

I’m studying php and mysql from a book. Everything has worked so far! Now we have this function totaljokesfunction.inc.php:

<?php
// login to mysql
include_once $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/includes/db.inc.php';

function totalJokes()
{
try
{
$result = $GLOBALS['pdo']->query('SELECT COUNT(*) FROM jokes');
}
catch (PDOException $e)
{
$error = 'Database error counting jokes!';
include $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/includes/error.html.php';
exit();
}
$row = $result->fetch();

return $row[0];
}
?>

I have an index.php and firstjoke.html.php and totaljokesfunction.inc.php

I want to output the result of totaljokesfunction.inc.php in firstjoke.html.php but I can’t.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8">
<title>Jokes</title>
</head>
<body>
<p>
<h2>The first joke is:</h2>
<?php $output = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/includes/totaljokesfunction.inc.php';
echo $output; ?>
</p>
</body>
</html>

All I get is:

The first joke is:

/var/www/html/includes/totaljokesfunction.inc.php

How do I output the result of totaljokesfunction.inc.php please??

User written functions consist of two parts. The function definition and the function call. The function definition is contained in the totaljokesfunction.inc.php file. To cause the function definition to exist in your application, you need to ‘require’ the file holding the definition. You can then call the function when needed. The file holding the function definition should only be responsible for the function definition(s). It should NOT be responsible for creating the database connection. Your main application code should be responsible for causing the database connection to be created. Any function that needs a database connection should have a call-time parameter for the connection (don’t use any global keyword/variable to supply a database connection to a function.)