foreach loop through a multidimensional array

I am a complete beginner so I need help.

I have the following code:

[php]
$foodprices = array(“vegetables”=>array(“Tomatoes”=>1.00, “Beet”=>20.5, “Onions”=>3.5),
“Meat”=>array(“Skaap”=>20.5, “Bees”=>30.5));
var_dump($foodprices);

foreach($foodprices as $category)
{
echo “The current category is $category”;
foreach($category as $food => $price)
{
echo “
The price of {$food} is {$price}”;
}
}
[/php]

I would like to print the category names as well so how do I print the key values of a multidimensional array please. Any help is appreciated

print_r works better than echo for array loops in my experience…it will also show you all possible variable keys.

You can do something like echo $category[‘key_value’] to echo the specific variable you are interested in. In the case of your example, echo $category[‘vegetables’] or whichever key you’re after.

There are two categories and under each category there are a number of items so I would like to print

Category 1 (Vegetables)
Carrot => 2
Beet => 3

Category 2 ("meat)
Lamb => 3.0
Beef => 20.5

How do I do that please?

Okay so…here is a trick I use when I’m trying to fetch a value or key from an array inside another array.

[$array][‘array_key’][$sub_array][‘sub_array_key’] --> and so forth indefinitely stacking arrays and array keys.

In your case, lets say you have an array for food categories that is comprised of other arrays.

$food_category = array(‘vegetables’ => $veg_array, ‘meat’ => $meat_array);

You would want to echo something like

echo [$food_category][‘vegetables’][$veg_array][‘carrot’];

to get the value for the Carrot key from inside the two two arrays.

print_r([$food_category][‘vegetables’][$veg_array]); //this would show you all keys and values for the $veg_array

If I have 1000 categories I want to transverse through each category and display the category and the items under each category so I don’t see your method working sorry.