Fatal error: Uncaught Error: mysqli object is already closed in C:\xampp\htdocs

Hi I am new to coding and a little stuck on where I have gone wrong with my code, as I keep receiving the following error when logging into my webpage:
Fatal error : Uncaught Error: mysqli object is already closed in C:\xampp\htdocs\flower\login.php:10 Stack trace: #0 C:\xampp\htdocs\flower\login.php(10): mysqli_real_escape_string(Object(mysqli), ‘[email protected]…’) #1 {main} thrown in C:\xampp\htdocs\flower\login.php on line 10
Any help would be very much appreciated.

Login Page

<?php

@include 'config.php';

session_start();

if(isset($_POST['submit'])){

$filter_email = filter_var($_POST['email'], FILTER_SANITIZE_STRING);
   $email = mysqli_real_escape_string($conn, $filter_email);
   $filter_pass = filter_var($_POST['pass'], FILTER_SANITIZE_STRING);
   $pass = mysqli_real_escape_string($conn, md5($filter_pass));

$select_users = mysqli_query($conn, "SELECT * FROM `users` WHERE email = '$email' AND password = '$pass'") or die('query failed');

if(mysqli_num_rows($select_users) > 0){

$row = mysqli_fetch_assoc($select_users);

if($row['user_type'] == 'admin'){

$_SESSION['admin_name'] = $row['name'];
         $_SESSION['admin_email'] = $row['email'];
         $_SESSION['admin_id'] = $row['id'];
         header('location:admin_page.php');

}elseif($row['user_type'] == 'user'){

$_SESSION['user_name'] = $row['name'];
         $_SESSION['user_email'] = $row['email'];
         $_SESSION['user_id'] = $row['id'];
         header('location:home.php');

}else{
         $message[] = 'no user found!';
      }

}else{
      $message[] = 'incorrect email or password!';
   }

}

?>

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
   <meta charset="UTF-8">
   <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge">
   <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
   <title>login</title>

<!-- font awesome cdn link  -->